Skip to content

Inspired Asics Ad

October 11, 2010

 

Sound Mind Sound Body Campaign by Asics via Women's Health

 

I saw this ad in Women’s Health this month and it really caught my eye. Right away I liked the bold graphic nature of the composition, but then I looked closer and saw all these little words- rage, fear, sadness, insecurity- on the left side, before the runner is breaking through the sheet of water. It speaks to the way exercise clears your mind, and I know this to be true.

My favorite yoga DVD Dance the Chakras focuses on the mind and the breath and I find it so refreshing. I love the positive narration and the beautiful imagery they describe. At one point they talk you through a pose explaining that when energy flows in that area you can turn anxiety into energy we can use for creativity and self healing and invite us to “perform that alchemy now.” I love how yoga pushes you, reminds you that the mind and body are inextricably connected. I constantly call on this concept whenever I am challenged, either physically or mentally. Exercising to the extent of my abilities trains me to breathe through the tough parts and stay focused on balance and good form.

I’ve just started to train 6 days a week with intense cardio and often I just want to stop, but challenges that push me out of my comfort zone are extremely important to my growth.  So how will I push myself out of my comfort zone and into true discomfort? I want to run the Bolder Boulder 10k next spring and possibly the San Diego Rock & Roll half-marathon the week after… which is a huge challenge, considering I’ve never really been “a runner.” Running is the last frontier for me, the thing I don’t want to do that will stretch me to the limit. My best friend from San Diego wants to run the half-marathon and several friends here want to run the 10k, so I really have extra motivation and good company. I need to learn to appreciate the body/mind meditative state that results from long time & long distance exercise. I love this Asics concept because it’s all about the cleansing power of running I want to discover which I already know a bit of through dancing, yoga and cross-fit workouts. It’s about finding those dark corners of your mind and body, the places it’s hard to go, and going there. Pushing for change, envisioning a new version of you. Believing that you can reach heights you never thought possible! Personal trainers and coaches are invaluable because they see where you need to be pushed. Think of all you could accomplish by taking stock of where you could improve and asking for feedback and ideas from friends and family about lofty goals you could set.

I’ll leave you with this quote by Michelangelo we’ve been discussing at work lately, which applies perfectly.

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

