Skip to content

Japanese Persimmon Salad

May 22, 2010

I found this gorgeous little recipe on a really interesting blog shizuokagourmet– super healthy ethnic food that looks really traditional and good for energy- the author seems to be an avid cyclist! I especially loved this salad because of the colors and the ease of making it. I love sophisticated recipes that take five minutes flat. Who wouldn’t? They are great from everything to treating yourself to a lovely lunch, or entertaining discerning foodie  guests. So, this reminded me of a few recipes from Raw Food Real World that I really loved and want to share with you, but sadly I left my book in San Diego. If I can find some good pictures and the recipes online, I will surely share some soon because they are similar- little stacks of veggies and colorful exotic fruits drizzled with a fresh citrus dressing- doesn’t get much better. But first, here is the one I just found. Enjoy exploring that blog, I know I did! There are some lovely bento box presentations on there that are really inspiring! I’ll give you a picture of one of those too, just to whet your whistle.

I can’t wait to get some persimmons from the farmer’s market! They seem to be a favorite among raw foodies and I trust them. 🙂

INGREDIENTS: For 5~6 people

-Daikon: 170 g
-Carrot (choose a red Kyoto carrot if available: 40 g
-Cucumber: 120 g
-Squat sun-dried persimmon: 1~2
-Water: 3 cups/600 ml/cc
-Salt: 1 tablespoon (for salted water)
-Japanese sake: 5 tablespoons
-Salt: 1/2 teaspoon
-Light soy sauce: 1~2 teaspoons
-Rice vinegar: 2~3 teaspoons

RECIPE:

-Cut the daikon into 3 cm long matchsticks and then chop finely. Let rest in water and salt for a while.

-Cut the cucumber into 3 cm long sticks and chop finely. Drop them into the slated water containing the daikon.

-Cut the persimmon into sticks a bit thicker than the above.

-Pour the seasoning ingredients into a separate bowl and mix well.

-Take daikon and cucumber out of water. Drain well. Drop them with the persimmon sticks into the sauce.

-Mix and serve as shown in above picture.

_________________________________

And here’s one of those lovely bento boxes. Something about them just make me so happy- the thought and attention to detail in Japanese cooking- it translates into happiness and health, and I has aspired to make bento box lunches for some time. Maybe now is the time to start in earnest…

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

